Thursday, January 29, 2009

Public Holidays 2009


Following on from the post below, our Projects Facilitator has prepared a very useful guideline on Public Holidays in General.


The following are the designated public holidays for 2009 in terms of the Public Holidays Act:

* Thursday - 1 January - New Years Day
* Saturday - 21 March - Human Rights Day
* Friday - 10 April - Good Friday
* Monday - 13 April - Family Day
* Monday - 27 April - Freedom Day
* Friday - 1 May - Workers Day
* Tuesday - 16 June - Youth Day
* Sunday - 9 August - National Women’s Day
* Monday - 10 August - Public Holiday
* Thursday - 24 September - Heritage Day
* Wednesday - 16 December - Day of Reconciliation
* Friday - 25 December - Christmas Day
* Saturday - 26 December - Day of Goodwill

National and Provincial Elections

A general election is to be called during 2009. There is general speculation that the President of the Republic, in consultation with the Independent Electoral Commission may announce that such election date may be held on Wednesday, 15 April 2009.

It is likely that general election day will be proclaimed a public holiday. Should this be the case then there will be four public holidays during April 2009.

Public Holidays falling on a Sunday

The Act provides that whenever a public holiday falls on a Sunday, the following Monday shall be a public holiday. Monday, 10 August 2009 will therefore become the public holiday.

Public Holidays falling on a Saturday

The building construction sector traditionally works a five-day week. A public holiday falling on a Saturday will not require payment, provided any employee does not work on that day.

Public Holidays Worked

Any employee who works on a public holiday which falls on an ordinary working day must be paid at least double the ordinary daily wage. If the employee works longer than normal time the employee should be paid for the additional time.

An employee who works on a public holiday falling on a Saturday must be paid a normal daily wage plus the actual hours worked.

Public Holidays Exchanged

Public holidays can be exchange for any other ordinary working ay fixed by agreement between employer and employee. The employee will then be paid at the ordinary daily wage for the public holiday worked.

Pieter Rautenbach
Projects Facilitator

CONSULT YOUR ASSOCIATION.
WE ARE HERE TO HELP YOU !

No comments: